Due to current Executive Orders for the review of federal websites, including the Department of Health and Human Services, federal data sources and documents may be temporarily unavailable. If you are unable to access a federal website, please use the Internet Archive, which may have an archived copy of the website [https://web.archive.org/ ].
The most frequently-used databases
A robust collection of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. Indexed back to 1937.
Access to peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus also includes extensive journal metrics and author profiles.
-
DynaMedexDynaMedex is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use at the point-of-care, together with built-in drug and drug interaction information from Micromedex. NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
-
Essential Evidence PlusComprehensive clinical decision support system developed as a point-of-care tool for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals and integrated with The Cochrane Library
-
UpToDateEvidence-based, clinical resource NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
-
Clinical Pharmacology
Drug information for prescription, over-the counter (OTC), and investigational drugs, as well as neonatal and pediatric-specific monographs. Tools: drug identification, interactions, IV compatibility, patient ed, and drug comparisons.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more. -
Facts & Comparisons
Database includes investigational and orphan drugs in addition to prescription & OTC. Tools include comparisons of 3000+ charts and tables, advanced dosing tools, drip rates, dont crush/chew, & look/sound alikes.
-
Lexidrug
Contains information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, pharmacology, and monitoring. Includes AHFS Drug Information. Formerly called Lexicomp.
-
Micromedex
Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Includes Drug Interactions, Drug Identification, IV Compatibility, Drug Comparisons, and RED BOOK online.
NOTE: USF Health Libraries entitles USF Health students, faculty, and staff to access Micromedex mobile apps. -
NatMed
Evidence-based reviews of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Includes safety, effectiveness, and interaction ratings, patient handouts, consumer education, and CE center.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
3D anatomy learning software with modules related to human anatomy, muscles and kinesiology, anatomy and physiology, physiology and pathology, and biology. Also includes study flashcards, quizzes, and lab activities to facilitate learning. Available to use through a web browser or via mobile app. When the app is used with a mobile device, the software include augmented reality (AR) capabilities. Individual registration (free) is required to access the content.
Guides by Subject
