AACN Essentials Resources
Textbook Resources
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowMedical textbooks, quick reference, multimedia, drug therapy cases, diagnostics, and self-assessment tools. NOTE:You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowPharmacy textbooks, quick reference, multimedia, drug therapy cases, and self-assessment tools. NOTE:You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies.
- AccessSurgeryComprehensive online surgery resource including textbooks, instructional videos, images, interactive board review, and clerkship-specific tools. NOTE:You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies.
- APA PsycBooks on PsycNetThis collection contains high-quality publications in psychology and related fields.
- Ebooks for the ClassroomUSF Libraries have assembled a collection of ebooks that can be adopted for courses at no cost to students and with unlimited access. These titles are either owned or can be purchased by the USF Libraries for use in a course. New ebooks are added as they become available.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect TextbooksThere are now more than 37,000 books on ScienceDirect including textbooks, monographs, books series and handbook volumes
- MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowMedOne Education (formerly Thieme Electronic Book Library) is Thieme’s medical learning platform that features over 110 e-textbooks covering the entire medical school curriculum, with textbooks in the health and life sciences, Thieme’s color atlases of anatomy, and review books (including USMLE test prep.) The searchable platform includes 761 videos, over 57,000 images, and a new Q&A section with over 1,000 questions.
- National Academies PressThe National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, medicine, and health policy.
- NCBI BookshelfBookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
- Taylor and Francis Nursing and Allied Health e-book collectionTaylor & Francis eBooks is a single destination platform with eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Instructional Videos
- Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new windowNursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter. Faculty can integrate these 2-22 minute long videos within lectures, discussion groups, tests, and distance learning programs. Nursing and Mental Health in Video supports the existing curriculum at all levels – undergraduate, graduate, and professional. USF has perpetual access to this collection.
Competency-Based Education Resources
- Competency-Based Education and Entrustable Professional Activities: An Electronic Clinical Tracking System SolutionCompetency-based education presents challenges in the management of competency attainment, validation, and documentation, especially in clinical education arenas.One approach to competency management is the use of “entrustable professional activities” (EPAs), which are units of professional practice that break down competencies into tasks that students are expected to perform, to equip them to practice safely and independently.
- Establishing competency-based measures for Department of Veterans Affairs post-graduate nurse practitioner residenciesThe VA Nursing Academic Partnership NP residency faculty established and piloted a web-based Nurse Practitioner Resident Competency Assessment (NPRCA) instrument for the comprehensive, specialty-specific assessment of individual NP resident's skill competencies across 24 areas.