Due to current Executive Orders for the review of federal websites, including the Department of Health and Human Services, federal data sources and documents may be temporarily unavailable. If you are unable to access a federal website, please use the Internet Archive, which may have an archived copy of the website [https://web.archive.org/ ].
Clinical Practice Guidelines
According to the IOM [1], clinical practice guidelines are "systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances."
The best guidelines will be evidence-based which means that they are developed by performing a systematic review or meta-analysis of the available evidence from high-quality clinical trials and research studies which is then synthesized by those with expert knowledge into recommendations.[2]
Clinical practice guidelines can be found in books, websites, and databases. Some professional organizations have their guidelines freely available and other only allow members access to them. Many organizations publish articles on their guidelines which is why they can be found in academic databases like PubMed.
Clinical Practice Guidelines in Scholarly Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAfter entering your search terms, filter by "practice guidelines" under publication type
- APA PsycInfoEnter your topic terms in your search box. Combine these terms with a search for 'practice guidelines" using AND.
- PubMedAfter performing your search, select "additional filters". From the article types filters, select "guidelines" and 'practice guidelines". Select "show". Apply the filters to your seach.
- PsychiatryOnlineAmerican Psychiatric Association practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders. Click on the Guidelines tab to see all the guidelines
Point of Care Databases with Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Essential Evidence PlusAfter searching for a topic, select the "evidence" tab.
- UpToDateAfter searching for your topic, scroll down to "summary and recommendations" for UpToDate recommendations. Scroll to "society guideline links" for additional guidance from outside sources.
Books with Clinical Practice Guidelines
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by Call Number: AccessMedicine CollectionISBN: 978-1265690168Publication Date: 2023
Websites with Practice Guidelines by Subject Area
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-Based Practice Center ReportsYour search results cover complete titles of all evidence reports released by the EPCs, including reports for the Effective Health Care Program, the Technology Assessment Program, and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
- American Academy of PediatricsType in a patient care topic to see related clinical practice guidelines from the AAP.
- American Nurses AssociationANA is dedicated to share pertinent evidence-base practice information and can be applied to a variety of clinical care settings. One Strong Voice-Clinically Speaking is a resource that assists in bringing nursing practice information to the bedside for practical implementation.
- ECRI GuidelinesClinical practice guideline repository. Must register for free account to access guidelines.
- Guideline CentralCompilation of guidelines across specialties. There are paid features of this website that are not necessary to access the guidelines. Check USF Health Libraries for any full text that is not freely available.
- Trip Medical DatabaseTrip medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
- U.S. Department of Veterans AffairsVHA, in collaborations with the Department of Defense (DoD) and other leading professional organizations, has been developing clinical practice guidelines since the early 1990s. In 2010 the Institute of Medicine identified VA/DoD as leaders in clinical practice guideline development.
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force"The USPSTF is an independent panel of non-Federal experts that makes recommendations on clinical preventive services, such as screenings, counseling, and preventive medications, to primary care clinicians. USPSTF recommendations apply to people with no signs or symptoms of the disease, and are based on a rigorous, systematic review of peer-reviewed evidence." -- webpage 11/2/17
- World Health Organization GuidelinesGuidelines developed by WHO that contain recommendations for clinical practice or public health policy.
- American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons OrthoGuidelinesOrthopedic clinical practice guidelines
- American Heart Assocation Guidelines and StatementsThe American Heart Association and American Stroke Association publish medical guidelines and scientific statements on various cardiovascular disease and stroke topics.
- American Society of HematologyEvidence based practice guidelines for hematological practice.
- HIV Info Medical Practice GuidelinesFind links to guidelines for health care providers covering general guidelines, HIV prevention and treatment, and specific conditions from around the world.
- National Comprehensive Cancer NetworkFree account required to access guidelines
- American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) GuidelinesACG provides clinical guidelines in the area of GI related diseases and disorders.
- American Diabetes Association Standards of Medical Care in DiabetesThe 2022 Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes includes all of ADA's current clinical practice recommendations and is intended to provide clinicians, patients, researchers, payers, and others with the components of diabetes care, general treatment goals, and tools to evaluate the quality of care.
- American Psychological Association Professional Practice GuidelinesThese guidelines address psychological practice with particular populations (e.g., older adults) or in particular areas (e.g., parenting coordination) without focusing on specific disorders or treatments.
- American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) GuidelinesClinical Practice Guidelines, authored by the CQI, are intended to address the assessment and treatment of child and adolescent psychiatric disorders.
- American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)Standards and Guidelines for anesthesia practice
- ERAS society guidelinesEvidence based guidelines related to the clinical care of perioperative patients.
- CDC Opioid Prescribing Guideline ResourceThe recommendations in the CDC Guideline for Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain focus on clinical practice and provide evidence and guidance to improve how these drugs are prescribed—and ultimately improve patient care.
- Institute for Safe Medication PracticesISMP Medication Safety Guidelines cover a variety of topics, including the safe use of technology, specific high-alert medications, and treating high-risk patient populations.
- Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical SocietyThe Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) is an international non-profit organization serving members from more than 35 countries. The UHMS is the primary source of scientific information for diving and hyperbaric medicine physiology worldwide.
- Clinical Pharmacogenetics Implementation ConsortiumCPIC guidelines are designed to help clinicians understand HOW available genetic test results should be used to optimize drug therapy, rather than WHETHER tests should be ordered.