Access to Full Text Journals
►Download the BrowZine mobile application from the iTunes, Google Play, or Amazon app stores.
Understanding Databases
Many scholarly literature databases are organized around topics. The databases below are not exhaustive but will be some of the most popular ones for nursing.
Nursing and Medical Literature Databases
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowIndex of current nursing and allied health journals and other publications. Coverage: 1975-present.
- EmbaseInternational biomedical and pharmocologic literature from over 90 countries, including over 2,700 journals unique to EMBASE.
- PubMedFree resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature. If you have difficulties logging in to your MyNCBI account, try going to PubMed directly www.pubmed.gov
- PsycINFOCovers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
- ScopusAccess to peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus also includes extensive journal metrics and author profiles.
- Web of ScienceContains research across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from journals, books and conference proceedings. Features citation linking, hot papers, and highly cited articles.
Other databases by subject area
Population Health
- Global Health [Ovid]Comprehensive public health database with unique journal coverage not found in PubMed, MEDLINE, or Embase. Uses the CAB Thesaurus.
- Global Index Medicus (GIM)Formerly known as the World Health Organization's Global Health Library (GHL-WHO). It provides worldwide access to information and scientific evidence on health, particularly in developing regions.
Healthcare Business, Leadership, and Management
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowSubject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and full text of articles back to 1995.Indexing goes back to 1982.
Quality and Safety
- Health & Safety Science AbstractsEnvironmental science abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. Coverage: 1960-current.
- Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new windowRisk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.
Healthcare Policy
- Nexis Uni®Search news, legal, and business sources, including federal and state cases and statutes, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs.
- Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes primary law, secondary sources and litigation materials.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Coverage: 1990 - current
Informatics and Healthcare Technology
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards. For off-campus access, you may need to use the USF VPN.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters.
Tutorials
- USF Health Libraries YouTube TutorialsIncludes tutorials about how to search databases, use EndNote, search PubMed and other library and research-related topics.
- CINAHL TutorialsLinks to various YouTube tutorials from EBSCO showing you all you need to know to search CINAHL.
- PubMed TutorialsCreated and published by the National Library of Medicine
- Using PubMed in Evidence-Based PracticeThis course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
- Database TutorialsVideos and links for help using health databases.