Due to current Executive Orders for the review of federal websites, including the Department of Health and Human Services, federal data sources and documents may be temporarily unavailable. If you are unable to access a federal website, please use the Internet Archive, which may have an archived copy of the website [https://web.archive.org/ ].
Primary Sources for Evidence Based Practice
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A robust collection of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. Indexed back to 1937.
- Essential Evidence Plus
Comprehensive clinical decision support system developed as a point-of-care tool for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. Integrated with The Cochrane Library.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Access to pharmacy-related articles and conference abstracts. Developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
- PubMedFree resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature. If you have difficulties logging in to your MyNCBI account, try going to PubMed directly www.pubmed.gov
- Web of ScienceContains research across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from journals, books and conference proceedings. Features citation linking, hot papers, and highly cited articles.
Guidelines
- Canadian Medical Association GuidelinesThe CMA Infobase is a database of evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it includes approximately 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada.
- DynaMedex
DynaMedex combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex. DynaMedex is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use at the point-of-care, now also with built-in drug and drug interaction information from Micromedex. You can also still access DynaMed without Micromedex.
DynaMed Decisions is also accessible in DynaMedex and is a clinical decision support tool that works alongside the information and evidence of DynaMedex.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
- National Institute for Health & Care Excellence (NICE) GuidelinesNICE guidance contains systematically-developed recommendations, based on the best available evidence, to guide decisions for a particular area of health, public health or social care.
- PubMedSelect "Additional Filters" from the left column, then "Practice Guideline" from the Article Type filter.
- Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)Methodology checklists to appraise studies and develop guidelines for healthcare interventions.
- Trip Medical DatabaseTrip medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Point of Care Resources
- DynaMedex
DynaMedex combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex. DynaMedex is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use at the point-of-care, now also with built-in drug and drug interaction information from Micromedex. You can also still access DynaMed without Micromedex.
DynaMed Decisions is also accessible in DynaMedex and is a clinical decision support tool that works alongside the information and evidence of DynaMedex.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
- Embase PICO Search ToolSearch by Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome, and Study Design to find articles to answer clinical questions.
- EBM Reviews (Ovid)
Includes ACP Journal Club, Cochrane CENTRAL Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Health Technology Assessments, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSpecialized PubMed searches intended for clinicians to limit retrieval to articles that report research conducted with specific methodologies.
Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses
- Campbell CollaborationThe Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
- Cochrane Library
Collection of databases of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- HMD (formerly Institute of Medicine (IOM))Health and Medicine Division (HMD) Consensus reports and workshop summaries published by the Institute of Medicine since 1998. Established in 1970, the HMD is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences, which was chartered under President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Nearly 150 years later, the National Academy of Sciences has expanded into what is collectively known as the National Academies. The HMD is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public.
- National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) JournalsThe NIHR Journals Library comprises a suite of five open access journals providing an important and permanent archive of research funded by the National Institute for Health Research.