Ardis Hanson
Athletic Training (Department of Orthopedics and Sports Medicine) LibGuide
This LibGuide supports the USF Athletic Training Professional program, at the Morsani College of Medicine's Department of Orthopedics & Sports Medicine.
Athletic Training Clinical Resources
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A robust collection of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 925 journals indexed in CINAHL. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. Indexing dates back to 1937.
- Lexicomp
This link opens in a new window
Contains information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, pharmacology, and monitoring. Includes AHFS Drug Information.
- Micromedex
This link opens in a new window
Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Includes Drug Interactions, Drug Identification, IV Compatibility, Drug Comparisons, and RED BOOK online.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more. - PEDro This link opens in a new windowRapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Trip Medical DatabaseTrip medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence, Trip allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Scholarly Article Databases for Athletic Training
- Cochrane LibraryCollection of databases of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- EmbaseInternational biomedical and pharmocologic literature from over 90 countries, including over 2,700 journals unique to EMBASE.
- International Pharmaceutical AbstractsAccess to pharmacy-related articles and conference abstracts. Developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
- MedlinePlusThe National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. It contains information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language.
- PubMedFree resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature. If you have difficulties logging in to your MyNCBI account, try going to PubMed directly www.pubmed.gov
- PsycINFOCovers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
- ScopusAccess to peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus also includes extensive journal metrics and author profiles.
- SportDiscusCovers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles.
- Web of ScienceContains research across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from journals, books and conference proceedings. Features citation linking, hot papers, and highly cited articles.
Journals of Athletic Training
- American Journal of Sports MedicineOfficial journal of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine, the United States Ski Association and the National Ski Patrol System. Contains original articles focused on the causes and effects of injury or disease resulting from or affected by athletic injury.
- BMC Sports Science, Medicine & Rehabilitation
BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation is an open access, peer reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of sports medicine and the exercise sciences, including rehabilitation, traumatology, cardiology, physiology, and nutrition. ONLINE - British Journal of Sports MedicinePublished by the British Association of Sport and Medicine, BJSM is an authoritative original research, systematic reviews, consensus statements and timely debate in sport and exercise medicine (SEM) as well as clinical education and implementation success stories. BJSM serves 25 sports medicine and sports physiotherapy societies who have over 12,000 members. Available ONLINE
- Journal of Athletic TrainingJAT provides professionals interested in the quality of health care for the physically active necessary education and research in prevention, evaluation, management and rehabilitation of injuries.
- Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical TherapyJOSPT publishes scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for physical therapists and others in the health care community to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice. Now in its 38th year, JOSPT aims to be the preeminent source of scientific evidence to optimize musculoskeletal and sports-related rehabilitation and health in the global community.
- Journal of Sport RehabilitationThe Journal of Sport Rehabilitation (JSR) is your source for the latest peer-reviewed research in the field of sport rehabilitation. The Journal of Sport Rehabilitation (JSR) is your source for the latest peer-reviewed research in the field of sport rehabilitation.
- Medicine & Science in Sports & ExerciseMedicine & Science in Sports & Exercise (MSSE), ACSM's flagship monthly journal, is the leading multidisciplinary original research journal for members. Each issue features original investigations, clinical studies and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science.
- Research in Sports MedicineCovers major aspects of sports medicine and sports science - prevention, management, and rehabilitation of sports, exercise and physical activity related injuries, and occupational problems. ONLINE
- Sports MedicineCovers science and practice in the promotion of exercise and health, and in the scientific assessment, study and understanding of sports performance. Regular features include: sports injury prevention and treatment; exercise for health; drugs in sport and recommendations for training and nutrition. ONLINE
Videos, Case Studies, and Tutorials for Athletic Training
- American Medical Society For Sports Medicine| Case StudiesCase studies related to sports medicine
- Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer Assessment ToolThe BOC establishes both the standards for the practice of athletic training and the continuing education requirements for BOC Certified Athletic Trainers (ATs). Its free Professional Development Needs Assessment (PDNA) tool is designed to help you assess gaps in knowledge and skill within a particular practice area.
- WebAnatomySelf tests and quizzes on the different body systems and terminology developed by the University of Minnesota.
Books & E-books
-
Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science, the Female Athlete by
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781118862209Publication Date: 2014This new International Olympic Committee (IOC) handbook covers the science, medicine and psycho-social aspects of females in sports at all levels of competition. Each chapter focuses on the specific issues that female athletes confront both on and off the field, such as bone health, nutritional recommendations, exercise/competition during menstruation and pregnancy, and much more. Fully endorsed by the IOC and drawing upon the experience of an international team of expert contributors, no other publication deals with the topic in such a concise and complete manner. Recommended for all health care providers for women and girl athletes internationally for all sports and all levels of competition. It is a valuable resource for medical doctors, physical and occupational therapists, nutritionists, and sports scientists as well as coaches, personal trainers and athletes.
Neurology Secrets by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780323369985Publication Date: 2017The updated 6th edition of Neurology Secrets provides an up-to-date, concise overview of the most important topics in neurology today. It serves as a comprehensive introduction and reference for medical students, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, residents and practitioners, and other healthcare professionals.
Athletic Training Professional Organizations
- Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE)SHAPE America is the nation's largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals.
- American Council on ExerciseACE provides NCCA-accredited certifications and scientifically rooted education to fitness professionals and health enthusiasts
- American Congress of Rehabilitation MedicineACRM has worked with hospitals, universities, professional and advocacy organizations, and rehabilitation professionals globally for over 90 years, promote evidence-based practice and practice-based research.
- American Orthopaedic Society for Sports MedicineAOSSM is a world leader in sports medicine education, research, communication, and fellowship, working closely with many other sports medicine specialists, including athletic trainers, physical therapists, family physicians, and others to improve the identification, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of sports injuries.
- American Sports Medicine InstituteASMI provides advanced training in sports medicine and orthopaedics by means of fellowships for medical specialists who treat patients with sports and recreation-related injuries and musculoskeletal problems. A weekly Sports Medicine Conference series covers basic science, biomechanics, medical issues, conservative and surgical treatment of sports medicine injuries, and the rehabilitation process.