Upcoming Library Classes
Krystal Bullers
0000-0002-2199-2286
We are currently experiencing a system-wide issue that is affecting all health-only resources. Alternative trustworthy drug information resources can be found through the Drug Information guide. Any link that does not have a padlock image next to it should work. For updates, see Outages [07-26-2024]
Drug Information Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Drug information for prescription, over-the counter (OTC), and investigational drugs, as well as neonatal and pediatric-specific monographs. Tools: drug identification, interactions, IV compatibility, patient ed, and drug comparisons.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more. - Facts & Comparisons
- This link opens in a new window
Database includes investigational and orphan drugs in addition to prescription & OTC. Tools include comparisons of 3000+ charts and tables, advanced dosing tools, drip rates, dont crush/chew, & look/sound alikes.
- Lexidrug
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information about FDA-approved indications, off-label uses, pharmacokinetic data, safety information, pharmacology, and monitoring. Includes AHFS Drug Information. Formerly called Lexicomp.
- Micromedex
- This link opens in a new window
Databases of summaries and detailed monographs for drugs and drug interactions. Includes Drug Interactions, Drug Identification, IV Compatibility, Drug Comparisons, and RED BOOK online.
NOTE: USF Health Libraries entitles USF Health students, faculty, and staff to access Micromedex mobile apps. - NatMed Pro
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based reviews of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Includes safety, effectiveness, and interaction ratings, patient handouts, consumer education, and CE center.
NOTE: This resource is also available as a mobile app. Click on phone icon to learn more.
US Government Drug Information Resources
- DailyMedDailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This website provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
- FDA Drug DatabaseSearch the Federal Drug Administration's drug database by product name (trade or generic), pharmacologic class, ingredient, and more.
- Green Book (Approved Animal Drug Products) byThe Approved Animal Drug Products, or Green Book, includes most FDA-approved animal drugs in this publicly available list of approved animal drug products. Besides containing information about patents and exclusivity periods, various sections of the Green Book sort approved animal drugs alphabetically by trade name, numerically by application number (lowest to highest), and alphabetically by active ingredient.
- Orange Book byThe Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (also known as The Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- Purple Book byThe Purple Book is a database that contains information about all FDA-licensed biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products. The Purple Book also contains information on all FDA-licensed allergenic, cellular and gene therapy, hematologic, and vaccine products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).
Toxicology Information
- Consumer Product Information DatabaseDatabase of the health effects of consumer products. Formerly Household Product Safety under ToxNet.
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)This evidence-based and peer-reviewed databases contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
- EPA Chemicals and Toxics TopicsInformation from the Evironmental Protection Agency (EPA) about chemicals and potentially toxic substances.
- Lexi-Tox
- This link opens in a new window
Information on agents of toxicity, antidotes and decontaminants, household products, access to Safety Data Sheets (SDS), toxicology-specific calculators and drug identification.
- LiverToxLIVERTOX®, produced by the NIDDK and the NLM, provides information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
- Search Toxicology Literature in PubMedInclude the drug name after the 'AND" in the search box to search for toxicology literature
Drug Pricing
- Micromedex
- This link opens in a new window
Micromedex includes RED BOOK online with pricing information on prescription and OTC pharmaceuticals. To access RED BOOK, open Micromedex, then click on Other Tools from the menu.
- Medicare Part B Drug Spending DashboardInteractive tool & downloadable data for spending over the last 5 years on Medicare Part B drugs
- Medicare Part D Drug Spending Dashboard & DataInteractive tool & downloadable data for spending over the last 5 years on Medicare Part D drugs
- Medicaid Drug Spending DashboardInteractive tool & downloadable data for spending over the last 5 years on drugs paid for through the Medicaid program.
- Veterans Affairs Pharmaceutical Pricing DataContracted pricing data on medications paid for through the U.S. Veterans Benefits and Health Care program.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Historical DataAccess to historical records for drug spending as part of Medicare and Medicaid. Data is organized in zip files by year and program.
- GoodRxGoodRx is a commercial website that shows current pricing and discounts for prescription medications.
Mobile Drug Info Apps
The following drug information databases offer access to information from your mobile device.
- Clinical Pharmacology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Members of USF Health can download the Clinical Pharmacology app to their mobile devices for drug information on the go. **This app uses considerable storage space.**
1. Access Clinical Pharmacology through the USF Health Libraries webpage
2. Click on Register in the top-right corner
3. Create an account with Elsevier using your @usf email address
4. From the main page of Clinical Pharmacology, click on your name and select Remote Access from the menu.
5. Enter your @usf email address and click Continue. You will receive an email with a link to activate your account.
6. Download the Clinical Pharmacology app through your device's app store (iOS or Android)
7. Sign in using the account information that you created
- Micromedex
- This link opens in a new window
Members of USF Health can download the Micromedex drug information apps: Drug Ref, Drug Interaction Checker, IV Compatibility, NeoFax (neonatal) and Pediatrics to their mobile devices for drug information on the go. For instructions on how to access the app, click on the Micromedex page.
- NatMed Pro
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1. Access Natural Medicines database through the USF Health Libraries website
2. Click on Get Your Login ID in the top-right corner to create a profile
3. Download the Natural Medicines app from your device app store (iOS or Android)
4. Sign in using the account information you created